Sodatide Akkermansia: what the label says and what it leaves out
Sodatide Akkermansia means the species Akkermansia muciniphila, one of three named bacteria in a 36 mg probiotic blend. The label gives no cell count, no strain code and no note on whether it is live or pasteurized. The main trial on this species used 10 billion cells a day for 3 months, and no study has tested Sodatide.
What is Sodatide Akkermansia?
Sodatide Akkermansia is the third name in the probiotic blend. The label lists three species: Bifidobacterium infantis, Clostridium butyricum and Akkermansia muciniphila. The blend weighs 36 mg per capsule. That is the total for all three together.
Akkermansia lives in the mucus layer of the gut lining. Many readers meet the name for the first time on a label like this one. This post sticks to what the Sodatide label and the studies linked on this site say.
| Item | What is printed | What is not published |
|---|---|---|
| Species named | B. infantis, C. butyricum, A. muciniphila | Strain codes |
| Blend weight | 36 mg per capsule | The split between the three species |
| Live cell count (CFU) | Not printed | The number of live cells |
| Form of Akkermansia | Not stated | Whether it is live or pasteurized |
Weight includes the carrier powder, so it says little about how many bacteria are inside. That is why probiotic labels usually add a CFU figure. This one does not. Our post on how to read a probiotic label explains the terms.
Key facts
- The label names Akkermansia muciniphila as one of three species in a 36 mg blend.
- No CFU count, strain code or species split is printed.
- The label does not say if the Akkermansia is live or pasteurized.
- The main trial used a pasteurized form at 10 billion cells a day for 3 months.
- That trial found better insulin sensitivity and no significant weight change.
- No study has tested Sodatide itself.
- People with weak immune systems should ask a doctor first, because the blend holds live bacteria.
What does the research say about Sodatide Akkermansia?
No study has tested Sodatide itself. The research on this species comes from other products and other doses. Here is the key trial.
In a 3-month trial, a pasteurized form of Akkermansia at 10 billion cells a day improved insulin sensitivity in overweight and obese volunteers. Weight change was not significant (Depommier et al., 2019). The study did not use a Sodatide capsule, and the Sodatide label does not say if its Akkermansia is live or pasteurized.
| Point | Trial | Sodatide label |
|---|---|---|
| Dose | 10 billion cells a day | 36 mg for the whole three-species blend, count not printed |
| Form | Pasteurized | Not stated |
| Length | 3 months | A bottle is a 30-day supply |
| Result | Insulin sensitivity improved; weight change not significant | The label claims support only |
Without a cell count, nobody can say whether one capsule comes close to the trial amount. Typical probiotic products carry 1 to 10 billion CFU, and effects depend on the strain (NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, 2025). The label’s three claims are explained in our post on what Sodatide does for you.
How do the fibers in Sodatide relate to Akkermansia?
The formula pairs the bacteria with two fibers. The idea is that bacteria and their food go in together. That pairing is often called a synbiotic.
One trial on potato resistant starch is worth a note. At 3.5 g a day for 4 weeks, counts of Bifidobacterium and Akkermansia rose (Bush et al., 2023). A Sodatide capsule holds 100 mg of potato resistant starch, which is far less than 3.5 g. So the trial shows an idea and not a promise.
Our post on what Akkermansia muciniphila is gives the background on the species. The gut health guide links every study, so you can read them yourself.
What should men over 50 ask about Sodatide Akkermansia?
The label has no age limit. It is made for adults 18 and over. Older adults often take daily medicine, so the ask-first list may apply to them more often. A few short questions help you decide.
- Do I take any medicine? No interaction study has been published for Sodatide, so ask your doctor or pharmacist.
- Do I have a medical condition? The label asks you to see a physician first.
- Is my immune system weak? Live bacteria carry a rare infection risk, so a doctor should say yes first.
- Do I want a known cell count? The label does not print one. The order desk may share more.
- Do I accept a 30-day supply per bottle and a 60-day window to judge it?
Our post on who should not take Sodatide sets out the groups. Take the bottle, or a clear photo of its label, to the appointment.
Is Sodatide Akkermansia safe to take?
For healthy adults 18 and over, the ingredient types have a mild safety record. But no study has tested Sodatide itself, and the strain IDs are not published. Safety facts on the species come from other products.
The main caution on the blend concerns a different species in it. In Japan, five hospital patients developed bloodstream infections linked to Clostridium butyricum probiotics, and most had weak immune systems (Sada et al., 2024). The risk is rare, but it is the reason people with weak immune systems should ask a doctor first.
If you get a fever or chills after you start, stop and call a doctor. The side effects page has the full list.
How can you judge Sodatide Akkermansia for yourself?
You cannot measure Akkermansia at home. What you can do is keep a plain record of how you feel and decide before the window closes.
Write a baseline
Rate your digestion, fullness after meals and afternoon energy from 1 to 5 for three days before you start.
Take one capsule a day
Use an 8 oz. glass of water, at the same time each day.
Compare week 1 with week 4
A change of a full point or more is worth noticing.
Decide by day 50
The refund window runs 60 days from purchase. Call the order desk before it closes if you want to stop.
This is a fair trial and not a lab test. It tells you about your routine, not about the bacteria.
Frequently asked questions
Does Sodatide contain Akkermansia?
Yes. The label lists Akkermansia muciniphila as one of three species in a 36 mg probiotic blend.
How much Akkermansia is in Sodatide?
Not published. The label prints a 36 mg total for all three species and no CFU count.
Is the Akkermansia in Sodatide live or pasteurized?
The label does not say.
Does Sodatide copy the Akkermansia trial?
No. The trial used 10 billion cells a day of a pasteurized form for 3 months. Sodatide prints no cell count, so the two cannot be compared.
Is Sodatide Akkermansia safe with a weak immune system?
Ask your doctor first. The blend holds live bacteria, and rare infections linked to another species in it were reported in hospital patients, mostly with weak immune systems.
What if it does not suit me?
The window is 60 days from purchase. Phone the order desk, quote your order ID and ask for a refund.
Our view
Sodatide Akkermansia is a real ingredient with a real research story, but the story is about other doses and other forms. The label tells you the name of the species and the weight of the whole blend, and nothing more.
For a man over 50 who weighs a supplement carefully, the right move is to ask for the missing numbers, check with a doctor if you take medicine, and use the 60-day window as a fair test. We would not call the blend proven, and we would not call it risky for a healthy adult.
General reading from the Sodatide Editorial Desk. For advice on your own health, see your doctor.
Last updated
